Write Honey Write

Proverbs 16:24 ESV

Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.

Honey?”

Some people call their loved ones by this name. Others ask it when they taste something sweet. The Bible puts it into action to describe good things.

Honey? You’re searching for honey?”

Bees actually. Honey comes later.”

I came within 400 meters of finding honey a year ago. My bee box had guided me in the direction of a nearby hive. Using a calculation I found on-line I estimated it to be within 400 meters of my house. This was not close enough to help me pinpoint where it might be. I live in a city and there are plenty of things within a 400 meter radius of my dwelling. What is a bee box you might be wondering?

DSCN0117

I designed my box after seeing different plans on the internet, adapting a $1 store wooden box into a two chamber, light trap as it is known by insect hunters. Light guides the bees from one compartment to another where I close the trap door and do the next step. It is a fascinating project for figuring out where hives might be.

Proverbs 24:13 ESV

My son, eat honey, for it is good, and the drippings of the honeycomb are sweet to your taste.

Honey has many health benefits and I wanted to get some bees to reduce the cost of, and add some knowledge about, honey. Benefits to health include; cancer preventative, ulcer reducer, anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, increased athletic endurance/performance, reduces cough and throat irritation. So saith Google.

RSCN0122

Oddly, after my first few months of trying to do the bee box method winter came. Then the trouble followed where there were very few bees anywhere (part of the global bee decimation?) and I could not keep up the search. This spring I will try and find them again, I’ve got a couple good ideas, one of which included staking out bees that inhabit the City’s largest graveyard. I leave you with a tip from Proverbs again, this on moderation and honey.

Proverbs 25:16 ESV

If you have found honey, eat only enough for you, lest you have your fill of it and vomit it.

Don’t worry, I promise to only eat enough.

One thought on “Write Honey Write

Leave a Reply

