Work Bench-Fixing a TWSBI 580

A couple months back I noticed my TWSBI 580, my most expensive and used fountain pen, was leaking. This would not be a big deal as it could have been due to something coming loose, like a seal or one of the screwed in parts. This happen to be different. At some point I must have dropped the pen which broke the inner base off the piece housing the feed, the part that holds both the nib and transports ink from the tank in the body of the pen. With this brake I figured, depressingly, that I would have to order the part,  e.g. spend money and time to get the pen up and running. One thing that I like about fountain pens besides their functionality for writers, is that often they are fixable compared to pens you would just toss in the trash. They are the bicycles of the writing world to make a comparison.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Nib/Feed housing, silver grip and clear grip parts.

On the far right is the nib/feed housing which is actually broken at the point where the threads are visible on the top. I glued this together using quick dry plastic crazy glue type glue.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Center-housing Left-glue

Once the housing was glued I reinserted everything and after some adjustments the pen worked well again. There is a gap now between the housing and the silver grip end, but there is no leak and the screw on cap is still fine with this arrangment so I don’t mind as long as it works!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Reassembled TSWBI 580

I would like to mentioned the nib I am using on this pen. The original was a silver colored M nib with the TWBI symbol on it, very nice, but it didn’t seem to fit my writing style and used far more ink laying down a line than I wanted. So I swapped it out with a very old nib with a flat italic nib.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Platignum FI nib

So the Fine Italic is a beauty, and smooth as silk! Hey, it’s all about writing!

So keep writing, even if you have to fix your pen to do it!

2 thoughts on “Work Bench-Fixing a TWSBI 580

  1. I’ve never gotten along with fountain pens. No matter what I’ve tried when using one, the writing is a sloppy mess. Some may say it’s because I haven’t adjusted it right. How is that done? Show me. Others say it’s because I’m a lefty, that it’s either the way I position the paper or the pen, or maybe both. Actually, I prefer mechanical pencils.

    Like

    1. Glynis Jolly,
      I think it could be any number of factors in why you have had some bad experiences with fountain pens. One might be that the size of the pen/grip doesn’t match your hand. The other is the nib, that part of the pen made of metal that touches the paper, is the wrong size for your hand writing. Nibs come in different sizes and types which makes fountain pens interesting for their versatility, but most people don’t get the chance to experiment and that leads to disappointments. I was lucky, my brother let me take a pile of pens he had and I repaired and experimented with nibs from there. I think Noodlers would be a good company to start with if you want a good entry level pen, they even have different nib sizes available. Ink can also be another factor as some dry slowly and others, like Parker’s Quink, are made to dry fast like the pens you are probably used to using. Long response right? Well keep the questions coming Jolly!

      Like

Leave a Reply

