The Devil Went Down to Austin

Rick Riordan is an interesting writer. His blend is one of humor and violence, imagery and emotion. He likes to play with fears; fear of the dark, fear of being underwater, fear of losing, fear to love again, fear of pain. I was interested in this detective novel because of the main character’s voice. Tres Navarre is a good voice to listen to as he struggles with feelings over how to help his brother and how to keep from falling back in love with Maia Lee, his greatest love and a compliment to his own laid back demeanor. The book is not for the squeamish, but I liked the way he told the story better than other authors I started to read, only to get disgusted by either being too real or putting too much punch into the love scenes. This book is a bit dated, but overall Riordan gives the reader a good amount of plot twists and characters to love or hate. It took me a long time to read this book, so my recollections aren’t as clear as if I had pushed all the way through, but I definitely spent enough time reading it bit by bit on the recumbent exercise bike or the stair stepper machine to understand the talent in the pages. This is also one of my 500 yen discount bin paperbacks I got, finally getting to the end of it while on the 45th minute of the stair stepper. I give this book an Above Average in the detective novel category.

I originally posted this book critic a few years ago. So reposting it here. Interestingly enough I have read The Lightning Theif and started yesterday on The Sea Monsters, part of Riordan’s now famous Percy Jackson series for younger readers. I think he should have stuck with detective fiction, but I will leave that for another post!

Leave a Reply

