No Skeletons

I was reading tonight when a quote struck me.

The past is a ghost, the future a dream and all we ever have is now.

-Bill Cosby

Though I don’t want to get into a detailed account of Bill Cosby’s faults, the quote struck me because his ghosts caught up and have destroyed him irreparably. How often has this cycle of scandal destroyed people? Countless times, and the public ones make you feel like hero’s don’t really exist.

Galatians 6:7 ESV

Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap.

This brings me to the reason that Cosby’s quote is profound. In my own life I am so grateful to God that there are no skeletons in my closets, not regrettable mistakes that could haunt me.

I am not saying I am prefect, no just clear of conscience. I have made mistakes, but they were not the type that cast people into deep problems. I never held with the idea that it’s good to get messed up when you’re young. That reasoning sounds close to crashing a motorcycle on purpose- just to say you did it.

So, to sum up, here is my version of that same quote.

The past can be useful, the future as sure as the sun, what we have to do is the right thing now.

-Nathan A. Emery

Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

