Back on the Writing Bandwagon!

If you’re like me and you’re a struggling writer at this time of year, get back on the bandwagon!

The last month or so I’ve been stuck in a little bit of a writing right. It’s really a case of reading over writing, so I’m just trying to let it work its way out of my system. I think it also has to do with winter itself being such a dark, cold and difficult time of year. It’s the hibernation of the writer’s soul, at least it is here in Japan where the inside temperature of my house is only a few degrees higher than the outside temperature when I get up in the morning.
But I’m here saying that I’m trying to get myself back on the writing bandwagon. You can’t get on the bandwagon unless you pick up your instrument and at least try to play, so today I’ve been doing a little dictation using Google Dictation on my Android device. Its not a perfect solution, as anyone who has used dictation software before knows, but it is the start and I do feel like I’m getting something down on the page, not just looking at my instrument, I’m trying to work, to play it, I’m trying to make the music of writing come back to life out of hibernation  it’s been in over the last month.
Know this doesn’t mean that I haven’t been writing any blog posts. It just means I haven’t been doing any writing in the fictional or literary sense, as in writing a novel. Or finishing the non fiction book that I’ve been working on. So to circumnavigate that problem I’m working by dictating. If I know I can’t right I know I can at least speak.
If you’re like me and you’re struggling writer at this time of year, then I want to encourage you that you can still find a way to inspire your Muse and get the reading done. Hang in there, you can do it, you can get that writing done too!
Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

