I’m From My Mother.

I was teaching my Jr. High students this past week and was reminded of something that happened to me when I was teaching at an English conversation school once. They thought it was funny too, so here I am passing along the humorous event.

Years ago I got tired of answering the usual question “Where are you from?” with the my usual answer “I’m from New York.” You might know what I mean, the same old question comes back again and again and so you make up a new, amusing answer. Mine went as follows

Student: Where are you from?

Me: I’m from my mother.

This usually brought a confused look and then laughter to the students face. I was careful to use this answer however, reserving it for students who I perceived to have a good grasp on English and would thus understand the joke. But once it backfired oddly.

Student: Where are you from?

Me: I’m from my mother.

Student: Oh, Ha-Me too. (!)

Me: You’re from my mother too?!

Student: Oh, no-sorry!

Ah, language. Amazing how things can get twisted around so easily.

Keep writing, and laughing, it’s good to laugh.

Leave a Reply

