Realizations

After living here in Japan for 17 years some things have come back around to me. Last summer, in the heat of a Kanazawa morning, my niece and nephew and I were walking around the area I first lived in when I moved to the city. Walking to the place where my apartment was I stopped and gazed at a completely different scene. The apartment had been demolished and a new one built further down with a parking area.

I didn’t feel like crying, or depressed, I just shrugged my shoulders and thought about all the other things that have changed since I lived there. The next place I lived was a government apartment after I got married. That is gone now too, replaced with a neighborhood of houses. An improvement on the apartment, believe me there.

“Time waits for no man, and I am not man.”

original quote from Nathan A. Emery

But time doesn’t wait, thankfully so it would seem. It’s just the speed here in Japan that highlights the difference. Back in the States there are houses and buildings that were there when I was a kid, 30 years haven’t changed them. Here things might last 10 years and then they are replaced. It magnifies the transience of life.

Keep writing, and thinking too.

Leave a Reply

